Best Vet Tech Programs in Maine (2026 Accredited Schools Guide)
Choosing a vet tech program in Maine can feel overwhelming. Many students don’t know where to start, which school to choose, or how licensing works.
Reviewed by: vettechprograms.org
Last updated: May 2026
What You Need to Know First
Maine is a small state with a tight veterinary job market — but that works in your favor if you plan carefully. With two AVMA-accredited programs in the state, competition for seats can be significant. And because Maine’s vet tech workforce is relatively small, new graduates who earn their LVT license can find employment opportunities at clinics serving the state’s rural, coastal, and agricultural communities.
This guide covers everything you need to know — including both accredited programs, VTNE pass rates, licensing fees, licensing requirements, and current salary data.
At a Glance: Maine LVT Facts
| Factor | Maine Details |
|---|---|
| Credential Title | Licensed Veterinary Technician (LVT) |
| Licensing Board | Maine Board of Veterinary Medicine (under Office of Professional and Financial Regulation) |
| VTNE Required? | Yes |
| Additional State Exam? | No — Maine currently does not require an additional jurisprudence exam for veterinary technicians |
| Criminal Background Check | Yes — required as part of the application |
| License Renewal | Annual — September 30 |
| CE Hours Required | No specific veterinary-technician CE-hour requirement is stated on the current Maine Board veterinary technician licensing page |
| Total Initial Licensing Fees | $56 — $35 license fee + $21 criminal background check |
| AVMA-Accredited Programs | 2 in-state programs |
| Median Vet Tech Salary (ME) | $50,810/year (BLS May 2025) |
| Top 10% Earners | More than $57,690/year |
| Job Growth Projection | Verify against the latest Maine-specific occupational projection before publishing a percentage |
| Vet Techs Employed in Maine | ~910 (BLS May 2025) |
The Maine Board currently lists a $35 veterinary technician license fee and a $21 criminal background check fee. The annual renewal fee is $50 and the license renews annually on September 30.
The latest available BLS-based Maine wage data for May 2025 reports a median annual wage of $50,810, with the lowest 10% below $47,340 and the highest 10% above $57,690. Employment is estimated at about 910 veterinary technologists and technicians in Maine.
Quick Decision Guide
| Your Situation | Best Option |
|---|---|
| Want an associate or bachelor’s degree with hands-on training | University of Maine at Augusta (UMA) — Bangor Campus |
| Want a 2-year associate degree | York County Community College (YCCC) — Wells, ME |
| Need flexible scheduling as a working adult | Penn Foster College (online, AVMA-accredited) |
| Want affordable online learning | San Juan College (online, AVMA-accredited) |
AVMA-Accredited Programs in Maine
Maine has two AVMA CVTEA-accredited veterinary technology programs. Both provide pathways toward VTNE eligibility and Maine LVT licensure.
University of Maine at Augusta (UMA)
Location: Bangor, Maine
Degrees: Associate of Science (AS) and Bachelor of Science (BS) in Veterinary Technology
Accreditation: AVMA CVTEA — Full Accreditation
VTNE Three-Year Pass Rate (July 2022–December 2025): 78.9%
Program Start: Fall semester
UMA is Maine’s only program offering both associate and bachelor’s degrees in veterinary technology. The program is located on UMA’s Bangor Campus and includes modern laboratory facilities, a surgical suite, surgical preparation and treatment areas, animal boarding rooms, and a radiology suite.
One of UMA’s distinctive features is its hands-on training with multiple animal species. The program curriculum includes large-animal care and handling as well as other clinical skills.
Admission is competitive. UMA states that each VTE cohort contains an average of 25 students and starts in the fall semester.
The current UMA program data reports a 78.9% three-year VTNE pass percentage for the period July 1, 2022–December 31, 2025, based on 52 first-time candidates. UMA also reports an 88.9% annual job-placement rate for 2025.
Best for: Students seeking an associate or bachelor’s degree, hands-on veterinary technology training, or a pathway toward management, research, or further veterinary education.
York County Community College (YCCC)
Location: Wells, Maine
Degree: Associate of Applied Science (AAS) in Veterinary Technology
Accreditation: AVMA CVTEA
VTNE Pass Rate: Current program-specific rate should be verified directly with YCCC
Program Start: Verify current start dates with YCCC admissions
YCCC is Maine’s associate-degree option for students seeking a veterinary technology pathway in southern Maine. Located in Wells near the New Hampshire border, it serves students in York County and the greater Portland area.
Students learn through a combination of classroom instruction, laboratory work, and clinical/practicum experiences.
Best for: Students in southern Maine seeking an associate-degree veterinary technology pathway.
Online Vet Tech Programs for Maine Students
Because Maine has only two in-state programs and admissions can be competitive, many Maine students also consider nationally accredited online programs. These programs may still require supervised clinical experiences at approved facilities.
Before enrolling in any online program, confirm:
- Current AVMA CVTEA accreditation status
- Authorization to enroll Maine residents
- That required clinical sites can be arranged near you in Maine
- Current Maine licensure requirements
| Program | Current VTNE Pass Rate | Format | Key Requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| Penn Foster College | 69.74% (2023–2025) | Online, self-paced | Clinical experience required |
| San Juan College | 88.42% (2023–2025) | Online | Approved clinical site required |
| Purdue University Global | Verify current program data directly | Online | Verify current clinical/admission requirements |
| Northern Virginia Community College | 83.1% (2022–2024) | Online + required program components | Veterinary mentor and program requirements |
Penn Foster currently reports a 69.74% three-year VTNE pass percentage for January 1, 2023–December 31, 2025, based on 1,256 first-time candidates.
San Juan College currently reports an 88.42% three-year VTNE pass percentage for January 1, 2023–December 31, 2025, based on 95 first-time candidates. Its online program requires approved off-campus clinical instruction.
Northern Virginia Community College currently reports an 83.1% three-year VTNE pass percentage for January 1, 2022–December 31, 2024, based on 71 first-time candidates.
For a full comparison, see our Online Vet Tech Programs guide.
How to Become an LVT in Maine: Step by Step
Step 1 — Finish High School or GED
Strong science and math coursework — biology, chemistry, algebra — provides the best preparation for vet tech program coursework. Volunteering at a shelter, veterinary clinic, or agricultural setting before applying can help confirm career fit and strengthen program applications.
Step 2 — Graduate from an AVMA-Accredited Program
Maine law requires applicants to have completed a minimum of two years in a college program certified according to standards adopted by the American Veterinary Medical Association’s Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities, or an equivalent program as determined by the Board.
UMA offers an associate degree and bachelor’s degree in veterinary technology. YCCC offers an AAS in Veterinary Technology.
Step 3 — Pass the VTNE
After completing the required education, you must pass the Veterinary Technician National Exam (VTNE) administered by the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB). Maine’s Board directs veterinary technician applicants to contact the AAVSB to register for the VTNE. After passing the VTNE, applicants may submit their Maine veterinary technician license application.
| VTNE Detail | Information |
|---|---|
| Administered By | AAVSB |
| Format | Computer-based examination |
| Fee | $365 application fee |
| Passing Score | Required for Maine licensure |
| Testing Locations in Maine | Verify current Prometric locations through AAVSB |
| Additional State Exam | None currently listed by Maine for veterinary technicians |
The current AAVSB VTNE Candidate Information Handbook lists the VTNE application fee as $365 and notes that fees are evaluated annually and may change.
Maine currently directs applicants to the AAVSB for VTNE registration and does not list an additional veterinary-technician jurisprudence examination on its current licensing page.
For exam preparation strategies, practice questions, and pass rate data by school, see our VTNE Study Guide.
Step 4 — Criminal Background Check
Maine requires a criminal background check as part of the veterinary technician license application. The current Maine Board lists a $21 criminal background check fee.
Step 5 — Apply for LVT Licensure
The LVT application form is available through the Maine State Board of Veterinary Medicine. Your application must include:
- Completed veterinary technician license application
- Required education documentation
- Proof of passing VTNE
- Criminal background check
- License fee
The current Maine Board lists the initial veterinary technician license fee as $35, plus a $21 criminal background check fee, for $56 in listed initial state fees.
Step 6 — Renew Annually
Maine LVT licenses renew annually on September 30. The current Maine Board lists an annual veterinary technician renewal fee of $50.
The current Maine Board veterinary technician licensing page does not state a specific annual CE-hour requirement for veterinary technicians. Maine’s Department of Professional and Financial Regulation separately identifies Chapter 4 of the Board’s rules as continuing professional education for veterinarians, so the previous claim of “12 hours per year” should not be presented as a veterinary-technician requirement without additional authoritative support.
Vet Tech Salary in Maine
Salary data: BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025.
Maine veterinary technologists and technicians had a median annual wage of $50,810 in May 2025. The Maine median is above the current national median of $47,380 for the same occupation.
Maine vs. National Salary Comparison
| Level | United States | Maine |
|---|---|---|
| Median Annual Salary | $47,380 | $50,810 |
| Median Hourly Wage | $22.78 | $24.43 |
| Lowest 10% | Less than $35,710 | Less than $47,340 |
| Top 10% | More than $63,180 | More than $57,690 |
| Vet Techs Employed | 129,140 | ~910 |
The latest BLS May 2025 data reports a national median wage of $47,380 for veterinary technologists and technicians. The lowest 10% earned less than $35,710, while the highest 10% earned more than $63,180.
Maine’s May 2025 median wage was $50,810, with the lowest 10% below $47,340 and the highest 10% above $57,690. Approximately 910 people were employed in the occupation in Maine.
For a full breakdown of vet tech salaries across all 50 states, see our Vet Tech Salary by State guide.
Where Maine Vet Techs Work
- Private small and mixed-animal clinics
- Emergency and specialty veterinary hospitals
- Large-animal and equine practices
- University and research facilities
- Animal shelters and rescue organizations
- Wildlife rehabilitation and related animal-care settings
Job Outlook for Vet Techs in Maine
The national employment outlook for veterinary technologists and technicians is 9% from 2025 to 2035, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Maine’s state-specific employment projection should be checked against the latest Maine Department of Labor projection dataset before publishing a specific percentage. The previous “5%” figure should therefore not be presented as a current verified Maine projection without an updated Maine-specific source.
Maine’s relatively small workforce means the number of annual openings is also smaller than in larger states. The current BLS May 2025 data estimates approximately 910 veterinary technologists and technicians employed in Maine.
Maine’s rural character and agricultural economy also create opportunities for veterinary technicians interested in large-animal and mixed-practice work.
What Makes Maine Unique for Vet Tech Students
Small workforce = a smaller employment market. Maine has approximately 910 veterinary technologists and technicians according to May 2025 BLS employment data.
Large-animal and rural practice is a real career path. Maine has rural and agricultural communities where veterinary practices may serve companion animals, livestock, equine patients, and other species.
Two accredited in-state programs means limited local options. Maine students have two in-state AVMA CVTEA-accredited veterinary technology programs, while students can also consider accredited distance-learning programs.
No additional state jurisprudence exam currently listed for veterinary technicians. Maine’s current veterinary technician licensing information directs applicants to pass the VTNE and then apply for Maine licensure.
Coastal and wildlife-related opportunities. Maine’s coastal environment and animal-care organizations can provide opportunities in wildlife rehabilitation and related animal-care settings, although opportunities vary by employer and location.
Is This Career Right for You?
Strong fit if you:
- Are comfortable in clinical, medical environments — not just around animals
- Stay calm during emergency or high-pressure situations
- Enjoy precise hands-on technical work
- Communicate empathetically with pet owners in stressful moments
- Are genuinely interested in rural, large-animal, or wildlife practice
Worth reconsidering if you:
- Have a strong aversion to medical procedures or emergencies
- Are primarily drawn to being with animals rather than clinical veterinary medicine
- Need predictable, low-pressure work environments
Maine’s relatively small veterinary technology workforce means employment opportunities can vary significantly by location, employer, experience, and specialty.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many AVMA-accredited vet tech programs are in Maine?
Two — the University of Maine at Augusta and York County Community College. UMA offers Associate of Science and Bachelor of Science degrees in Veterinary Technology, while YCCC offers an AAS in Veterinary Technology.
What is the VTNE pass rate for Maine programs?
UMA’s current published three-year VTNE pass rate is 78.9% for July 1, 2022–December 31, 2025, based on 52 first-time candidates. YCCC’s current program-specific rate should be requested directly from the college.
Does Maine require a state exam in addition to the VTNE?
Maine’s current veterinary technician licensing page does not list an additional jurisprudence exam. Applicants must register for and pass the VTNE before submitting the veterinary technician license application.
How much does it cost to get an LVT license in Maine?
The current Maine Board lists a $35 license fee plus a $21 criminal background check fee, for $56 in listed initial state fees. The VTNE application fee is currently $365, according to AAVSB.
How many CE hours does Maine require for license renewal?
The current Maine Board veterinary technician licensing page does not state a specific number of CE hours for veterinary technicians. Do not use the previous “12 hours per year” figure without additional authoritative confirmation.
What is the average vet tech salary in Maine?
According to BLS May 2025 data, the median annual wage for veterinary technologists and technicians in Maine is $50,810, with the highest 10% earning more than $57,690.
Does Maine accept out-of-state vet tech licenses?
Maine has specific requirements for veterinary technician licensure. Applicants with out-of-state credentials should verify the current requirements directly with the Maine Board of Veterinary Medicine before applying.
Can I become a vet tech in Maine through an online program?
Yes — accredited distance-learning veterinary technology programs can be an option for Maine residents. For example, San Juan College currently lists Maine among the states where its veterinary technician program meets its state-by-state professional licensure determination, subject to the state’s authority over final licensure. Online programs may require approved local clinical experiences.
Nearby State Programs
If you live near Maine’s borders, programs in neighboring states may also be worth comparing:
Related Guides
- Online Vet Tech Programs
- VTNE Study Guide
- Vet Tech Salary by State
- Vet Assistant Programs in Maine
- How to Become a Vet Tech
- LVT vs RVT vs CVT — What’s the Difference?
Sources
| Source | Used For |
|---|---|
| Maine Board of Veterinary Medicine | Licensing requirements, application process, fees, renewal |
| Maine Legislature — Title 32, §4861-A | Veterinary technician education and examination requirements |
| Maine Department of Professional and Financial Regulation Rules | Veterinary technician and veterinary continuing education rules |
| University of Maine at Augusta — Veterinary Technology | Degrees, program location, VTNE pass rate, graduation and job-placement data |
| AAVSB — VTNE Candidate Information Handbook | VTNE registration and current $365 exam application fee |
| BLS — Veterinary Technologists and Technicians | National salary and employment outlook |
| BLS — May 2025 OEWS | Current national employment and wage data |
| Penn Foster — VTNE Results | Current Penn Foster VTNE pass rate |
| San Juan College — Veterinary Technology | Current San Juan College VTNE pass rate and accreditation |
| Northern Virginia Community College — Veterinary Technology | Current NOVA VTNE pass rate |
Editorial Policy
This page uses publicly available data from official licensing boards, accreditation bodies, government sources, and individual educational institutions. Requirements, fees, exam costs, program data, and salary figures can change — always confirm current details directly with the Maine Board of Veterinary Medicine, AAVSB, BLS, and individual programs before enrolling.
This site may receive compensation when visitors submit program inquiry forms. See our Advertising Policy for full disclosure.